MUNOZ – THE PEER’S CHOICE

CHILEAN ALAN MUNOZ HAS CLEANED UP THE APB 2017 AWARDS BY WINNING THE ATHLETES CHOICE AWARD (VOTED BY TOP 24) AND THE BIGGEST MOVE OF THE YEAR AWARD!

Congratulations to all!

2017 Rookie of the Year: Patrick Orr

2017 Pro-Junior World Champion: Nelson Ignacio Flores Arriaza

Move of the year: Alan Muñoz’s massive invert in Arica

Athlete’s choice award: Alan Muñoz

Please follow and like us:

Mike Stewart Inducted into the “BODYBOARDING IMMORTALS”

MIKE STEWART INDUCTED INTO THE BODYBOARDING IMMORTALS!

The APB celebrates “International Bodyboarding Day” with the greatest honour of all ……

For the first time ever – Mike Stewart 9 x World Champion has just become the first ever inductee to the Bodyboarding Immortals! This is the most honourable achievement in the sport. Mike would like to thank the athletes and fans of the sport and the APB for the recognition.

APB Ceo Alex Leon commented – We have created the “Hall of Fame” for the sport that being the “Bodyboarding Immortals” and we all know the greatest deserving athletes is Mike Stewart and what a great day to induct the first ever athlete into the Bodyboarding Immortals than on International Bodyboarding Day #intbbday

This global honour is to recognize the brilliance of Mike Stewart and his career in Bodyboarding. Mike has built his reputation from the following milestones:

  • 9 x World Champion (Record Titles)
  • First Ever Bodyboarder to paddle JAWS
  • 11 x Pipeline Champion plus other Pipe Events (PSA, Wave Rebel, Scott Championships)
  • Awarded the “Mister Pipeline” Title (First ever non-standup surfer to receive accolade)
  • Only athlete to have competed in all Pipeline Events since 1982
  • Pioneered Teahupo’o in late 1980’s
  • 8 x National Hawaii Tour Champion
  • Made it to the finals of every competition entered in his first 3 years.
  • Innovation and technology advances with Tom Morey.
  • Created the 4 man priority concept that is used in Surfing and Bodyboarding competition.

At age 54, Mike is still competing on the world stage and just finished 21 in the 2017 end of year rankings. The APB wishes Mike the best for his life and hope to see him still competing into the future.

Please follow and like us:

There’s a New King in Town

Fronton King 2017 Day 8

There’s a New King in Town

And his name is Jared Houston, and he took the crown from last year’s king in spectacular style at El Fronton today. A late charge in a final that was for the most part Lavernhe’s to lose, saw Houston take to the sky to steal victory away from Moz in the dying minutes. Elation is an understatement. This was the 4th time that Houston had competed at El Fronton, and marked his first ever win here (he finished 5th in 2010 and 2011, and 2nd in 2012). In addition, it was the first time his parents had ever been present to see him compete in an international competition, and it was also the place where he fell in love with his wife Natasha 8 years ago.

As we said, elation is an understatement…

But Houston’s long overdue victory at Fronton is not the only news from the day. There were plenty of other historic moments for the history books.

In what would have to be one of the greatest heats in the history of the sport of bodyboarding, Amaury Lavernhe and Ryan Hardy traded blows in an El Fronton that was reaching peak ferocity at its zenith during their quarter final heat. Two generations splitting the peak at El Fronton, putting it all on the line for the opportunity to claim a spot in the semi finals, each posting combined heat score totals above 17 points. Deep barrels left and right, then flips left and right, in the end the local knowledge seemed to be the critical defining factor with Lavernhe taking the heat.

A satisfied Hardy returned to an ovation like no other. The adoring fans at El Fronton grateful for his efforts. The competitive flame still glowing brightly in his eyes.

Another highlight of the quarter finals was Pierre Louis Costes’ absolute domination over Diego Cabrera, who was able to launch some crazy flips on the flip, but unable to ride out of them clean enough to satisfy the judges. PLC on the other hand, was in his best form, riding barrels deep and flipping out; launching air forwards like they were easy; flips as throw aways’. It was a reminder that PLC is going to be coming back with a vengeance next year.

The action from both eventual finalists continued into the semi-finals of the competition, with Jared Houston just edging past Jacob Romero despite the high-flying Hawaiian launching an epic air reverse out of the Fronton bowl. Houston was composed throughout the heat, finding the barrels he needed and finishing moves to finish off Romero’s pathway to the podium.

In semi-final two Amaury Lavernhe hit his peak of the day, absolutely dominating his rival and friend PLC to take another high scoring victory. Both riders went deep and shot for the sky during the exchange, with Lavernhe finding the best of it and booking his spot in the final.

The final of the Fronton King was slower than previous heats, with the waves becoming more intermittent and the larger sets from earlier heats almost non-existent. The heat was Lavernhe’s for most of the 30 minutes, but a late charge from Houston saw the tide turn, with the points on his side of the board with 5 minutes to go. The countdown to victory was torturously slow, and as the seconds ticked away, two fists pumped into the air from Houston, with Lavernhe quick to embrace the new king and offer his crown.

Viewers online would have noticed that the livestream during today’s action was less than satisfactory (in fact it was non-existent). The APB’s Alex Leon received word from the promoters that the disruption to the livestream was due to technical problems with a 3rd party internet service provider. The APB understands that the viewers were disappointed with this outcome and assures everyone that 2018 will be bigger and better.

Please follow and like us:

At Fronton King, chasing the throne is exhilarating.

Fronton King 2017 Day 7

At Fronton King, chasing the throne is exhilarating.

There really isn’t a better wave on the planet which offers a canvas purpose-built for bodyboarding to express itself upon. Nowhere else on this little blue planet, spinning around in the solar system, can you find a wave that can leave you fearing for your life in one moment, to celebrating in another. El Fronton is unique in its ferocity and potential for excellence, and today, the final 24 riders in the Fronton King 2017 experienced both firsthand.

There were simply too many amazing moments to list them all, so stay tuned for some epic clips and check into the APB Tour Facebook page for everything else.

But of course, here is a run-down of some of the more exceptional moments:
Jacob Romero charges and does amazing reverse airs on demand, but you knew that already. And the judges do too, awarding him some excellent scores for a crazy reverse air in his Round 3 Heat against friend Tristan Roberts, as well as riding to perfection a draining right-hander in his Round 4 heat with Dudu Pedra and local junior superstar Lionel Medina.

Lionel Medina is officially the ‘Kingslayer’. He knocked out the recently crowned world champ and was dangerous in his Round 4 heat with Romero and Pedra. The young fella simply couldn’t keep up with Pedra’s 10-point ride and Romero’s relentless performance. He is going to be someone to watch for many years to come.

Dudu Pedra got the ‘Golden Boom’ from Manny Vargas and the rest is history. A late take off to deep tube on a massive set wave, finished off with a beautiful ARS to leave a deep punctuation mark. The judges said: 10.

Ryan Hardy is still in the game and the game is happy to have Ryan Hardy still in it. Because, who else would finish a huge draining barrel in 6-10 foot Fronton with a forward spin to dropknee claim? Ryan Hardy, that’s who. One of the greatest riders to never (yet) win a world title was again in devastating form in his Round 4 heat with PLC and Lewy Finnegan and word on the street is that he wants to make a serious crack at it in 2018. Oh yeah…

PLC sent a warning that he wants his title back, and is not going to fade quietly into the night when it comes to the APB Tour. The Frenchman was launching like his life depended on it, and mixing his riding up in a way that saw him keep everyone in awestruck disbelief. He has always been one of the greatest of all time, and he showed it again today.

Amaury Lavernhe is quite rightly the man with most banana bench presses under his belt, and with his form today, he may well be the one bench-pressing them tomorrow too. Positioning himself perfectly on the reef left and right; riding the waves to their absolute full potential; launching looping air forwards just for kicks. He was on fire!

So that is an (incomplete) run-down of an historic day in professional bodyboarding. A day that may only be surpassed by what shall come tomorrow here in the Canary Islands.
We look forward to sharing that moment with you all online!

Next call: Thursday 1:30pm Gran Canaria time.

Las Palmas, Spain Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 13:30 WEST
Los Angeles, USA Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 05:30 PDT
Honolulu, USA Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 02:30 HAST
Sydney, Australia Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 23:30 AEDT
Perth, Australia Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 20:30 AWST
Cape Town, South Africa Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 14:30 SAST
Lisbon, Portugal Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 13:30 WEST
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 10:30 BRST
Santiago, Chile Thu, 26 Oct 2017 at 09:30 CLST

Round 3 Results:

 

Round 4 Results:

Quarter Finals set:

Please follow and like us:

Frontón King set to Explode!!!

The Gran Canaria Fronton King is set for an epic finish to the 2017 World Tour with forecasts predicted for amazing Fronton tomorrow (25th Oct) for Round 3 of the Main Event. Thursday (26th Oct) is also shaping up to be even better with a large swell on approach which could see epic conditions for the finals!

Round 3 set!

Next call will be at 12:00pm Wednesday 25th Oct with a possible start at 1:00pm. Tune into the live broadcast on www.apbtour.com/live or the facebook.com/apbtour to watch the most epic Bodyboarding show go down!

Time Zones around the world for next call:  12:00pm Gran Canaria time…

Las Palmas, Spain Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 12:00 WEST
Sydney, Australia Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 22:00 AEDT
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 09:00 BRST
Durban, South Africa Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 13:00 SAST
New York, USA Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 07:00 EDT
Honolulu, USA Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 01:00 HAST
Madrid, Spain Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 13:00 CEST
Lisbon, Portugal Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 12:00 WEST
Perth, Australia Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 19:00 AWST
Tahiti Time, TAHT Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 01:00 TAHT
Santiago, Chile Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 08:00 CLST
Los Angeles, USA Wed, 25 Oct 2017 at 04:00 PDT

Please follow and like us: